Well, my little girl will be turning one soon. While I was pregnant, I always said that I wasn't going to work until she was atleast 18 months. We've since moved to Germany thus loosing friends, family, coworkers...my support system. We were only allowed to ship one car, therefore leaving me without a car all day or waking up at the butt crack of dawn to take my husband to work (for some reason he thinks he has to be the VERY first person at his job).
So here's my dilemma. I"m soo ready to go back to work but I'm still not ready to leave my daughter with someone else. I'm ready to meet people and have some adult time. And since I'm not one to go out of my way to meet people (I'm somewhat quiet), getting a job is the easiest way for me to meet people. I realize that many women don't have the option of being a stay at home mom and I'm thankful to my husband for being the sole provider right now without complaint.
I was thinking I could start off slow by getting a part-time job just to see how that goes. I've been going to a baby sign language class and Nadie does WONDERFUL. It's like I don't exist until she gets tired and that's when she realizes that I'm there also. So I think she will be fine in someone else's care, I'm not fine with her being in someone else's care. Am I being selfish? I'm not sure I'll ever be able to leave her with someone (other than family and close friends) but I know it will have to be done eventually...for her sake and mine.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
5 comments:
Your baby is so cute. You are very lucky to be a stay at home mom. You could always try getting a part time job & see if that works, if not at least you have the oppurtunity to quit and stay at home with your daughter. Good luck with your decision.
Good luck with whatever you decide. I know it's not easy leaving your first child in someone else's care. I agree with the part-time until you can decide if it's really what you want to do.
Nadia is ADOREABLE and has gotten to be such a little chunk! :) Enjoy her and Happy Bday Nadia (I think her bday is this month? or next?)
Rania
Oh that's so hard but I think that's a great idea, to start part time and see how it goes.
And it's quite all right for you to be "selfish" That's your baby and you don't want to miss anything that goes on in her life.
Good Luck with your decision making.
Welcome Kenya to blogosphere! I completely understand the apprehension of letting your baby in someone else's care. I feel the same. Starting off with part-time sounds like a good idea. Whatever you decided many blessings.
Baby girl is growing up so fast! She is beautiful! You can find me on my blog at www.quiskaeya.com
Hi, Your baby girl is adorable! I just wanted to wish you good luck with your decision and to say that part time would be a fabulous start...
Lori
Post a Comment